Gallybeggar questionnaire – Mike Evers

Answering my impertinent questions this week is someone I’ve known for over twenty years – ever since we were mere slips of things down in deepest, darkest Sussex, wondering what on earth we were going to do with the rest of our lives. Mike has travelled all over since then, but these days he’s based in Yorkshire with his young family. I hope you enjoy his answers!

Hello! Where are you right now?

I would like to say that I was chilling next to Lake Wigry on the Polish/Lithuanian/Belarusian border, contemplating a spot of boating or a walk through primeval forest searching for signs of wolves, eagles and other wotnot, before settling down to an evening of good food and cold beers at 50p a pint. However, it is not 2004 again and I’m no longer backpacking around Poland with my later-to-be wife. It is 2014 and I’m in a stuffy Victorian building on a hot July day in Dewsbury. Sigh.

What’s the first book you remember reading (or having read to you)?

I can still remember the fantastic illustrations and wackiness of Dr Seuss. I was a toddler in Australia in the early 1970s and the rhymes and stories are still in my mind. By doing some research, I’ve re-discovered that one of the books was ‘Did I Ever Tell You How Lucky You Are’. I love how the ‘unlucky’ characters have to build an impossible bridge (of which I used to be fascinated by the illustration), and the poor fellow who has to dot ‘i’s and cross ‘t’s constantly. Great stuff. Thanks Mum for reading it to me.

What are you reading at the moment?

I’ve just read Agent Zigzag by Ben Macintyre, which is about a WWII double agent. I found it fascinating and pretty much couldn’t put it down for a couple of days during a recent holiday.

Are you writing at present? And if so, what are you working on? 

I’m taking a bit of a break at the moment, mainly because my son has just turned three and he’s quite a handful at the best of times. However, in September he’ll be going to nursery a bit more and should give me a little extra free time to write during the day I look after him. I’m in the middle of writing an account about 6 months I spent in Moldova in 1993. It was an insane rollercoaster time in my life.

As a writer, do you have any kind of regular routine? And are you superstitious about it? 

When I’m motivated, I can churn out stuff anytime and anywhere (e.g. on a bus using my mobile phone, which I’ll transfer onto Word). When I’m not motivated, I find it difficult to produce anything. I guess I’m not alone being like that, though. I’m not really superstitious about the writing process. Publication is another matter!

Summer or winter?

Can I cop out and say autumn? I love the whole transition thing. I like the first feeling of winter chill, and the fact that it’s back to school, university etc.

Where on the webosphere can people find you?

You can find me on Amazon USA via this link

And on Amazon UK through this one

I have two books on Kindle at the moment: The Chaosifier and The Hopfield Tales. The former is a contemporary fantasy adventure novel, and the latter a historical fantasy collection.

You can find out more about my work by following this link to my blog:

http://mountain-lord.blogspot.co.uk/2014/06/the-hopfield-tales-robin-hood-vikings.html

Thank you!

Leave a Reply

