Matthew Sweet on Sheridan Le Fanu

Yesterday was the bicentenary of the birth of Joseph Sheridan Le Fanu.

How do I know this?

Because he was the subject of yesterday’s “Google doodle”.

Embarrassing as it is that I had to be reminded of this important anniversary of one of my favourite authors by Google of all people, I hope it indicates that Le Fanu is finally being given the wider recognition he so richly deserves, and if you don’t believe me, take a look at this article by Matthew Sweet from the Telegraph, celebrating his writing and wider legacy. And then go out and buy one of his books. Trust me, you won’t regret it. Just remember to leave the lights on…

Leave a Reply

