Campaign to save William Blake’s cottage

William Blake's house, Felpham

Photo: homefield

Before I head off on a long looked forward to holiday in the Lake District, where I will have intermittent internet access at best, I thought I’d share with you this piece from the Guardian about the campaign to save William Blake’s cottage in Felpham.

Blake lived there from 1800 to 1803, and wrote the lines which have since become England’s unofficial national anthem, Jerusalem. Twenty years ago, when I was at college just down the road, I walked past the cottage, which was then a private house, several times, and I really hope it is saved for the nation, and for Blake lovers everywhere.

See you in a week.

2 thoughts on “Campaign to save William Blake’s cottage

    • Thanks Bia – me too! Just got back from holiday yesterday. Spent a lovely week in Keswick, with perfect weather. Didn’t want to leave! Managed to get to two of Cumbria’s stone circles – Castlerigg, and Long Meg And Her Daughters. Hope to post photos soon.

Leave a Reply

